Thursday, October 29, 2009

AZL FTW!!!

Awesome zumba lady is awesome. :D

I went to zumba last night and she was there. I was instantly energized just walking in the room. She is so upbeat and friendly and provides fun and challenging, but at the same time accommodating for those less skilled/able, workouts. It is a fine line to walk and she does it with ease.

I only made it through about 35-40 minutes. :( My right foot was killing me and I couldn't risk hurting it more. I was really bummed, but just as I was leaving, they started the squats routine, so I was a little less bummed. lol.

Ben and I are going back tomorrow before the Halloween party we're going to, so that will make 3 times this week. We are trying to get there more often, and this is as good of a start as any.

Monday, October 26, 2009

nothing exciting

I ran on the elliptical today. 2.75 miles, 300 calories, a little over 30 minutes. It's not a good time by any stretch of the imagination, and it's on an elliptical, which does not reflect true running conditions.

But, it's better on my feet and it gets the job done. I weighed myself before we ran and I was 155. Phhhthththth. :b It may have had something to do with the peach rings I was craving this morning with my coffee. *sheepish*

I will try to do better tomorrow, when I am sure I will have to get coffee in the morning again, since I've got an early morning drive to Columbus for a work training. Seriously...we don't have technology for nothing...why not have a conference call or webinar?

Thursday, October 22, 2009

as the geeks say: DING!

Ben and I went to the gym today. We have been really, really bad about going regularly. Things have been coming up recently: grocery shopping, oil change, training, etc. It's really no excuse, but it still happened. Anyway, we went swimming again.

We got in the pool around 8:53 or so. The clock was on the other side of the pool and I couldn't see it exactly, but it was definitely after 8:50 and before 8:55, closer to 8:50. The pool closed at 9:30, so I figured I'd try to get as much done as I could. At about 9:10, I had swum 800 meters and decided I could get done by 9:30 with a mile if I pushed myself a little. (Granted, that first 800 was with a couple times stopping to talk to Ben and give a couple smooches.) It was cutting it really close. I got done basically right at 9:30, which put my mile at 37 minutes, plus or minus a minute or two (more likely toward the minus, which makes me even happier).

Even better, I weighed myself before I went swimming. 153 lbs, which is the best it's been in a month. I'm going to measure the circumference of my tummy/thighs, since I haven't done that in a while. Give me a sec. It was 37 inches on my tummy and 22 inches on my thighs. I don't remember how that compares to previous measurements, so give me another sec. The stomach...eh, could be better. It HAS been better, but it also has been worse. The thighs are better than they were. Gotta keep truckin'.

Wednesday, October 14, 2009

just keep swimming...just keep swimming.......

I swam today with Ben. Yay!

I ended up doing 1000 meters. I'm not sure how much he did, but it was less. We're guessing probably about 600 or 700.

I love the feeling I get after a good swim: tired, but somehow energized, too. :)

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Nooooo! AZL fails!!!

Sigh. I was all excited that it might be AZL's week. It wasn't.

I ended up doing 3.25 miles on the elliptical (37 minutes...not great, but not bad).

I weighed myself before starting...granted it was after dinner...156. :(

I have been doing...um...terribly on portion control. I need to get back on the wagon. Consider the fire lit!

Maybe I can convince Ben to go swimming tomorrow.

Monday, October 5, 2009

mowing the lawn

I mowed the lawn. Easy exercise! 387 calories for the hour I spent, according to http://www.eddieoneverything.com/sports/how-many-calories-does-activity-x-burn.php

Also, my training was canceled on Wednesday, so here's hoping that it's a AZL week!

Sunday, October 4, 2009

Another day, another hotel

I was in Columbus again Friday/Saturday of this week. It was a different hotel, so they didn't have the pool that the one I usually stay at has. They did have a fitness center, so I grabbed my tennis shoes and hopped on an elliptical. It was an interesting machine. You could adjust the stride length, which I'm sure Ben would like. He always says that the thing he doesn't like about our gym's ellipticals is that he doesn't feel like he's getting his full stride. Anyway, I had every intention of doing at least a 1/2 hour, possible 60 minutes. After 10, though, I was beat. I don't know exactly why, but I just couldn't do any more. I pushed myself to 15 and that was all I could muster. Sigh.

So, I went back to the hotel room and did 100 sit ups. Ben and I have been talking recently about needing to do more muscle-toning exercises, so I bit the bullet and did it. My abs are still a little sore and it's two days later. Eh, no pain, no gain.