Sunday, September 2, 2012

Getting better

Not perfect, but better.

Ben and I have sometimes failed at the exercising daily. We have gone on two walks with the dog. We actually did buy the just dance game and have played it several times! Other than that, I think I'd like to start jogging. I have used my feet as an excuse, but they have been behaving as of late, and even if they weren't, I need to suck it up and do it anyway. I can't keep putting myself on the injured list when my body needs the exercise I'm opting out of.

Wish me luck!

Friday, August 17, 2012

Husband is home!

Today Ben got home and I am so happy! It has been hard being apart, but at least it's over for now. The day after I posted the last blog, I took my rest day. Little did I know I would have needed it for Thursday, but I'll explain that in a second.

Wednesday I did my yoga video because I had been in two days of training already and needed some energy to get through another day of training on Thursday. Plus, I love that video.

Thursday I almost forgot I had said I would go to karaoke with a friend. The thought that I might have forgotten about karaoke is quite distressing. So, karaoke plus getting dishes done before Ben got back took up my evening and I couldn't exercise.

We decided to get an exercise video from the video rental store today because the Netflix options were kind of sparse as we could tell. If anyone had a Netflix fitness video they recommend, please let me know! The video I got was a cardio workout thing, but I also got the Just Dance game for the Kinect to play, even if it was by myself. When I got back, Ben suggested playing the game instead of the video and we had a lot of fun playing the game together! It may actually be worth buying it soon. :)

So, all in all this week has been pretty good for exercising. More this weekend/next week as I do stuff!

Monday, August 13, 2012

I know what you're thinking...

Where the heck has this chick been???

I know, I know...I've been slacking hard. That's not to say that I haven't been exercising, I have. It has just been very minimal and very sporadic. I'm hoping to change that.

First, Ben and I have both put on weight. We're not proud of it, and we want to fix it. We will be exercising together once he gets back from his externship this week. Until then, I have created a randomized exercise plan. Popcicle sticks with daily exercise routines (i.e. 20 minutes of yoga, 30 minute dog walk, etc) that I will strive to do each day. I did include one rest stick, but it can only be used once per week.

Of course, today being the first day of giving it a shot, I pulled the one that I can't do because it requires me to rent a dance video game and Ben is currently in possession of my debit card. :( So, I pulled another one. 30 minute dog walk. Ok, I think to myself, I can do that. Then I remember that I need dish washing liquid because the sink is overflowing and we're out of dishsoap. God, I hate dishes! But, I digress.

I decided that I would take a couple bucks in cash I had lying around and go buy the dishsoap from the store that's a mile away. And I'd walk there, only without the dog. Sorry, Mayhem. What could have been a 15 minute trip to the store by car became an hour for the walking. My back hurt a little, but I think that was because the sidewalk was uneven, but other than that I feel really good! My feet really aren't even bothering me, which is great.

Before anyone asks why didn't I just use the cash to rent the video game, it's because I need dishsoap; I don't need a rental video game. So, anyway, even though I only had to do 30 minutes, I did 60 minutes because I'm just that awesome. :D Also, speaking of awesome, I helped a soldier with a broken foot load his groceries in his car.

That's all I've got today, and I'll have more to share coming up, I'm sure.