Thursday, February 25, 2010

Add 5 minutes!

I sprinted to the parking lot and back for a trainee who had forgotten her paperwork...in a thin short sleeved shirt and khakis...and no coat...no bra, either, as they were all in the wash, only a camisole under said thin shirt. Yeah, I was pretty out of breath once I got back inside. It reminded me of track in high school when we had to run on very cold March days (almost like today) in teeny weeny shorts and a tank top.

Yay workout buddies!!

I only did 45 minutes of exercise yesterday. I went to zumba and AZL was there, but so was two friends of mine. They tried zumba, but one of them decided it wasn't for him and went to work out somewhere else. The other one had problems with her back and frankly, my foot was starting to hurt, too, so we went and walked the track. I wish I would have been able to do the whole hour of zumba, but I would rather work out with friends and not have my stupid foot problem. I'm not going to be able to make it to the gym today because I have a training, but I am going to try to go tomorrow for as long as I can. Maybe some time on the fitness machines and then a swim. We'll see. I doubt I'll make the 3 hour goal for this week, but it's still possible.

Oh, weighed myself yesterday. 159. I wasn't very happy, but I also recognized that I didn't go to the gym at all last week because I was out of town in Indy and that I ate a little more fast food than usual in Indy.

Thursday, February 11, 2010

Several days

Between Tuesday's anaerobic exercises (350 reps worth of crunches and leg lifts) and shoveling snow (I know it's not TECHNICALLY exercise, but I was sweating and out of breath afterward, so I am counting it), Wednesday's zumba class (Awesome Zumba Lady was there, but stupid feet gave out on me 1/2 hour into the class. I was pissed), today's zumba class (at another branch of the gym...I left after 40 minutes mostly because I was getting muscle cramps and she was going too quickly for me to rest enough in between songs) and treadmill walking (1 mile for 20 minutes), I have done 2 hours of exercise this week! One more hour and I get undies!

I weighed myself Wednesday and I was still at 156. Damn. I weighed myself today and was at 158. Damn even more. Maybe I need to up my time at the gym. We'll see. I'll give it another week.

Thursday, February 4, 2010

Yay! New undies!

I have officially met my goal for the week. I did 30 minutes on the elliptical (2.12 miles, 225 calories burned) and 30 minutes swimming (900 yards freestyle, breaststroke and sidestroke).

I know it's been a while since I ranted about the lifeguards at the gym, but that doesn't mean that they are better. It just means I got tired of repeating myself on how bad they were. I think it's time for a recap. They suck. They do not watch you diligently, they turn their backs to you, they swing their rescue tube around and clean up the deck while you're swimming in the water.

I actually thought about applying for a job with one of their locations as the aquatic coordinator. They said I could basically make my own schedule, but I also got the feeling it needed to be regular, as in I decide that swim lessons are Monday and Wednesday mornings and Tuesday and Thursday evenings and I need to be there to coordinate those. I just can't do that regular of a schedule. I really need something that has extremely flexible hours because they throw stuff at me all the time that I can't foresee, such as train-the-trainers, meetings and ERS reliability. They usually give me decent notice beforehand, but how am I going to have a regular schedule at another job when I'm constantly being unavailable? Anyway, the reason I wanted to be the aquatic coordinator was because I wanted to be able to improve the quality of their lifeguards. It is seriously lacking and I, for one, would never, ever take my (hypothetical) children there and entrust their aquatic safety to the guards. Period.

p.s. I wanted to end it strongly, but I forgot to add this. I weighed myself. 156. Again, no loss and no gain. I'm starting to want to see the scale go down rather than being satisfied that it's not going up. But, it may be that I'm weighing myself too often.

no rhyme or reason

There is no rhyme or reason to when the HZL and AZL run the zumba classes. Going by the fact that two weeks ago, AZL did the class, AZL should have been the one doing it last night, too. Nope. HZL's day. Sigh. Oh, well. I still stayed for the whole thing. I was keeping track of how much my foot hurt. At 10 minutes, it was fine. 20 minutes, I could feel it hurting a little...not too bad, but noticeable. 35 minutes it was uncomfortable. That wasn't surprising, since I got to 35 minutes the last time and decided to go. I tried sticking it out this time around and by 50 minutes it was painful. But, I finished the whole hour AND went and walked the treadmill for 25 minutes to make an even 2 hours. I think I will go today before my brother shows up and do some elliptical stuff, probably only 30 minutes and then go swim for about 30 and that will be my hour to get to 3 hours for the week! Yay!

I also weighed myself before zumba. 156. No weight loss, but no weight gain, either. I'll take it!

Monday, February 1, 2010

Bad news and good news

Bad news is that I was 15 minutes short of my 3 hours of exercise goal last week, so no new undies. :(

Good news is I went to the gym again today and I've lost another pound. 156!!

I went to zumba today. It was horrible zumba lady, but I knew that going in. She always does Monday zumba. I figured it was a sacrifice I was willing to make. I'm going to go on Wednesday and hope that it's awesome zumba lady instead. I only lasted 35 minutes before my foot started hurting. Maybe if it was AZL, I would have stuck it out, but when I'm not enthused about the instructor to begin with, it was hard to justify to myself to keep going when I was in pain. It's still hurting some, so I'm going to give it a little rest tomorrow and maybe do some crunches/leg lifts at home.