Monday, January 11, 2010

Blech

I went to the gym for the first time in almost a month. I am very angry with myself for letting it go on so long without going. Every day I would come up with an excuse (some of them were valid, like having trainings or whatever) and talk myself out of going. I'm not proud of it and I'm publicly berating myself for it here on my blog.

Now that that's out of the way, I did 30 minutes on the elliptical. I'd say it was probably about 2.5-2.75 miles, since I was at .9 at 10 minutes and I forgot to check when I got off the machine how far it had been. Then, I did about 10 minutes on machines (2 sets of 15 reps on triceps, 50 lbs and 1 set of 15 and 1 set of 10 on biceps, 25 lbs). Finally, about 5 minutes on ab crunchy thing (1 set of 20, 1 set of 15, 1 set of 10 and 1 set of 5).

There was a zumba class going on, but it was CZL and I was 30 minutes late. AZL was taking the class, though, and she waved at me as I walked past to weigh myself in the locker room. Speaking of...bad news. 160. I had a feeling it would be about that, considering the month I was not going to the gym happened to be the month that had all the holidays in it. Sigh. Not happy at all. I have to work harder.

I probably could have done more time on the elliptical, but my heart rate was really, really high and I was getting a little concerned. It was 150 when I was going my slowest and in the 180's when I was pushing hard. Now, I have a high resting heart rate already, like 130's when I'm sitting doing nothing. For instance, here at the computer, I just counted 57 heartbeats in 30 seconds, which translates to 114 beats per minute. Not as high as 130's, but still pretty high. Anyway, even though I know my heart rate is high normally, I was getting worried about the fact that it was getting SO high, especially with the fact that I have to call the doctor to refill my cholesterol medicine and haven't taken the time to do so, so I haven't had medicine to take for about a week or so.

I am going to try to go tomorrow...maybe swim or something, I don't know. There's a zumba class at another gym I might try.

Oh, one more thing. I have noticed that I am not doing the portion control like I had been, which I'm sure contributed to the 4 lb gain. So, I'm doing it again, at least to the best of my ability. Ben and I went out to lunch Sunday and I asked for a box before I started eating anything. I know I would have eaten the whole thing if half had not been taken away right away. Hopefully this will help as well, because I need to stop eating so much.

No comments:

Post a Comment