Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Rewards!

So, I was thinking today as I was working out about incentives to get me to work out more. It was really hard to think of things, because everything I'd read was like, "get a pedicure; go for a massage; buy a song on itunes; etc" and none of that appeals to me. well, let me rephrase that: a massage and pedicure sound AMAZING, but they cost more money than I'm willing to spend, which does not appeal to me.

I did a little homework when I got home on the internet to find other incentive ideas. I was surprised, with as vast as the internet is, there were very few sites that actually discussed ideas for incentives. Even then, it was a lot of the same things, with a few "buy a pair of jeans, buy new shoes, buy makeup" blah blah blah. WHY DO THEY ALL SAY BUY???? Why does losing weight have to have a monetary incentive? Well, as much as I just nay-say'ed it, I think I decided on a pretty good incentive. For each week that I exercise at least 3 hours, I will buy myself a pair of underwear. They are not nearly as much as a pair of jeans or shoes (even at a thrift store), not as frivolous as a pedicure, massage or makeup and something that I will be needing anyway. I resolve that they will be cute, too!!

I can even make it this week, too!! I worked out for an hour today (45 minutes on the elliptical-3.5 miles and 380 calories and 15 minutes on the machines-25 reps on triceps at 45 lbs, 20 reps on biceps at 25 lbs, 5 reps on biceps at 15 lbs) and while I won't be able to go tomorrow (staff meeting in a.m., training in p.m.) I can totally go Thursday and Friday and be able to get a new pair of undies!! :D

Oh, I weighed myself before I worked out. 157. Yay! 1 more pound down!

No comments:

Post a Comment