Wednesday, March 31, 2010

zumba and a website

I went to zumba today. I almost posted something before I went, speculating on whether AZL or HZL was going to be there. Logically, it would have been HZL's week, but as I've mentioned before, logic does not apply to Wednesday night zumba. It's a good thing I didn't speculate, because I would have been wrong on both counts. Neither one was there, and the person from the zumba class I attended Sept 29 was teaching. It took me a sec to figure out who she was. I knew I wasn't a fan of hers, but I figured almost anything was better than HZL.

I got through 45 minutes before my feet started screaming at me. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't really very good, either. We'll call her Mediocre Zumba Lady (MZL). Anyway, I was walking down the hallway to leave after 45 minutes and suddenly I hear "Single Ladies" come on in the zumba room. "Gah!" I said to myself, "I was just about to leave!!" and walked back in to do one more song. So, I did 50 minutes total today.

I also weighed myself before the class. It said 158.5 and I wasn't very enthused about it. BUT (and I'm taking this with a grain of salt, mind you) a lady stepped on it as I was putting my hair in a pony tail and said that she thought the scale was about 2 lbs off. She said she had gone to the doctor the day before and was 2 lbs lighter yesterday. She highly doubted that she had gained 2 lbs in one day and decided it was wrong. So, it may be anywhere from 156.5 to the 158.5 it actually read.

AAAANNNNDDD I was informed of a really cool website today. It's www.mapmyrun.com A coworker had gone for a jog and planned to drive her route to figure out how far she had gone. A friend of hers told her about the website, and I LOVE it. It is so much better than holding up an index card to the map on the computer screen and comparing the marks on the index card to the scale. BTW, according to the website I walked 2.4 miles yesterday...so, basically a 3k.

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

blade/walk

I was going to go to the gym today, but then I took one look outside and decided it was much too nice to tether myself inside. So, I decided to take the dog for a walk again. My brother had lent me some rollerblades to try out, and see if my feet could take it.

I started out on the rollerblades, but got a block away from home and fell on my butt. I turned right back around and changed into my sneakers. Soooo much better. I also hadn't realized how much the rollerblades were constricting my ankles. :( They're still a bit sore.

I walked the dog for an hour, on a somewhat different route. It wasn't even my intention to do a different route, but it just happened that way. It was quite eventful. I'll recap it as succinctly as possible.

1. After changing into my sneakers, I was ninja'd by a bum whom I can only assume suffers some kind of brain damage. You'll understand in a minute. He kept repeating several different aspects of the same stories. First it was that my dog looked like his brother's dog, then transition into how many brothers and sisters he had (9 and 3, respectively), then transition into where he was in birth order (second youngest), then transition to his birthday (in June), then transition into a car crash he was in (1991), then transition into his scars on his head, then transition into how many times he had "died completely" as a result of the car crash (3). Like I said, it would not surprise me that he had some kind of brain damage from his car crash injuries.
2. On two occasions I had to pick Mayhem up because of dogs not on a leash, chain or tether. Once was a dog in a field with two boys, which promptly bounded across the field toward Mayhem. It stopped short at the fence. I don't know if it was as a result of the fence or of the fact I had literally just scooped Mayhem up away from it. The second was a set of two dogs, one doberman pinscer, the other I couldn't tell, but looked like your typical mutt, but just a huge as the doberman. I think they got out of their house without permission, because they were out of sight soon afterward and I heard voices from a house admonishing some pets.
3. I stopped in a little hole-in-the-wall pet store to check out the price of their dog food. It's several dollars less than I pay now, and it's closer. I may start supporting the small business owner.
4. I got honked at. Not like wooo-hooo pretty lady, but watch out. It startled me and I am really still unsure why they honked in the first place, since I was on the sidewalk, Mayhem was nowhere near the road and therefore was not posing a risk to ourselves or them.

I think that's it. I'd be willing to bet I did well over two miles, but less than three. Maybe in the next couple of days I'll have the time and patience to map it out. Until then, that's all you get.

Sunday, March 28, 2010

Best laid plans...

Well, the two days worth of hiking/camping ended up being mostly one. I had been on my feet for work Tuesday through Thursday and only had Friday to rest up, so I wasn't 100% for Triumph to begin with. I went on three threads on Saturday, which was a decent amount of walking. My feet were not happy with me. I sat the dungeons out hoping I would be useful with the overnight rest for Sunday.

Sunday morning about 7:30, I woke up to pain stabbing through my calf muscle on my right leg (the one that has the most problems of my feet). It lasted a few minutes and continued to be tight 2/3 of the day. So, in addition to having the nerve problem that was plaguing me already, I now had a calf muscle that couldn't take a lot of stress/stretch. I was limping everywhere and felt very badly that a) I wasn't getting the exercise I wanted and b) wasn't very much help to the NPC crew. I did go on one thread that didn't require a lot of walking, so I helped a little. Plus, I helped clean up Logistics and pack things into the cars. But, in a game that was short NPCs already, I didn't contribute much to the game.

Hmmm, now that I think about it, I did spend quite a bit of time on Friday setting up Logistics. That included lugging storage bins full of garb and gear through the mud from the car to the shelter. I think I MIGHT have made my 3 hours with that, but I'm not going to start cutting corners and "counting" different things I wasn't planning on being my exercise already.

Here's to next week.

Monday, March 22, 2010

Advice part deux

Another piece of advice my unnamed friend who reads my skinnyblog said is to measure my circumference, because I may not be seeing weight loss, but I might be seeing loss in inches. I haven't done that in a while, so I pulled out Ben's tape measure he keeps in his desk. 39" on my tummy at the belly button. 23" on my thighs. Let me check to see how that compares to the other times I've measured. I heart blogger labels.

March 4, 2009: 37" and 23.5" (up 2" on tummy, down .5" on thighs)
March 17, 2009: 38" and 23.75" (up 1" on tummy, down .75" on thighs)
July 2, 2009: 35" --no measurement for thighs (up 4" on tummy)
July 28, 2009: 37" --no measurement for thighs (up 2" on tummy)
August 5, 2009: 37" --no measurement for thighs (up 2" on tummy)
August 12, 2009: 36" --no measurement for thighs (up 3" on tummy)
October 22, 2009: 37" and 22" (up 2" on tummy, up 1" on thighs)

Really, if I'm being honest, this sucks. I'm not talking sucks like a baby sucks its thumb. I'm talking like a Dyson. Sucks. Expletive.

Ghost readers and their advice

I was at a party over the weekend and a friend of mine mentioned that she had seen my skinnyblog. My initial thought was "Crap. I haven't met my goal in a month, and now she knows how much I weigh and that I've been slacking." My next immediate though was, "Well, you wanted to be accountable, Janine," which is why I'm still blogging and still posting to Facebook. I realized when she said something about it that more people read it than I thought. I know for a fact that one person reads it (hi, Mary!). I suspect my brother reads it on occasion when he's bored and has already put together the model plane I got him, read the OverBoard, written letters to the President and State Representatives and eaten his soup. Those were the only ones I knew about. How many others are out there that see the link on Facebook and wonder what Janine is up to today? I may never know. But, I do know that I am doing exactly what I made this blog for: being accountable. That means being accountable not only for the exercise I do, but for the exercise I don't.

Anyway, I digress. This friend of mine has been training for the mini marathon since January. She gave me some really good advice. She said that she puts her gym time in her planner like an appointment, and then makes sure she keeps it, like any other appointment. I already do this for my job. I never used to be a big planner person, not even in school when we were required to use them. Ever since I started this job, though, and I have a different schedule every day, I seriously feel lost without my planner. I am going to put this into practice and hopefully it will get my ass in gear.

She also suggested trying out a spin class. I'm going to do it, but I've got to be honest. I did the exercise bike today (more on that in a sec) and I couldn't do more than 20 minutes, and even that was excruciating. I don't know what the people were smoking when they invented the exercise bike with those seats, but it was seriously unbearable. I don't know if I've just got a bony butt (I doubt it...I've got some junk in the trunk) or if it's the cyst on my tailbone (doubt that, too, this was definitely my butt that was in pain) but I think that spin class is going to have me walking funny for a week just from the seat. I'm not going to go back on my word, though. I'm going to try it. So there, butt.

Ok, so update on my exercise. I was watching NCIS and it was the last two episodes of one of the recent seasons in rerun. I hadn't seen them and was completely engrossed. I had decided to go to the gym at 8:30 and at 8 realized I REALLY wanted to see the end of the 2 part show. I was torn between watching the show and going to the gym in a half hour. In a moment of clarity, I remembered that I could watch it on the tv screens on the ellipticals at the gym. Duh, Janine. So, I grabbed my stuff and headed out at the very beginning of a commercial break. I still ended up missing a good portion of it because I decided I had to weigh myself and fill my water bottle first. 158. It's down 2 lbs since the last time I was at the gym. That's good, right? Let's just hope it stays that way. I hate to be pessimistic, but I also hate when I get excited over my weight loss and then I gain it back again.

I did 35 hour on the elliptical (2.9 miles, 315 calories), 20 minutes on the exercise bike. It's only Monday and I'm 1/3 of the way. I've also got Triumph this weekend and I'll make sure to do some stabby-stabby combat stuff that always seems to be more exercise worthy than I expect. My feet may hate me and decide I am the meanest person in the whole wide world and they're never talking to me ever again, but they'll get over it. New undies, here I come?

Thursday, March 18, 2010

was that a walk or a play date?

I took the dog for another walk today, mostly the same route. I figured up the distance before I left and it was about 300 feet shy of 2 miles. So, rather than walking the edge of a park, I walked around it and came out the other side. That should put me at 2 miles. It was still 45 minutes. My foot is a little sore.

So, I guess you wondering what the title's all about. I was coming up to the house of a friend who lives about six blocks away and I saw a beautiful black pit bull mix up ahead, walking by itself. It turned a corner and when I got up to the corner it had turned, it was still there. It saw Mayhem and boy, did that make his day. I picked her up, not knowing how friendly he was, just in case. He would not sit still to save his life for me to check his collar. He did let me pet him, after I let him sniff me and extended my hand. But, he kept running around me to see Mayhem and try to sniff her. Even though he was plenty friendly with me, I still wasn't sure how he would treat Mayhem, so I kept holding her.

I finally was able to check his collar and found out there was only a rabies vacc tag, no ID. :( I told him to go home. He walked around me a couple more times, trying to play with Mayhem until he got the message I wasn't going to put her down. I said, "Go home" again and he trotted on off. I did see him on the sidewalk again once we had gotten a little further down. I thought he might run after us trying to play with Mayhem again, but he didn't. I hope his owners find him. He was very friendly and well-behaved as far as I could tell. And did I mention beautiful? I should have gotten a picture. Oh, well. Hindsight's 20/20.

Wednesday, March 17, 2010

walk with the doggie

I just did a 45 minute walk with my dog. She did extremely well. She didn't bark at anyone or any dog...she did whimper a couple of times like she wanted to bark but I either said "No" firmly or said "Good girl" when she stopped whimpering, reinforcing that not barking was a good thing. Only a few times did I have to tug on the leash to get her to either catch up or not go so far ahead. For the most part she stayed either right next to me or a few feet in front or behind and caught up/slowed down on her own. I'm so proud of her! She is a good dog.

I also did 15 minutes of strength conditioning (read: carried heavy boxes and rolls of banners around the Columbus agency office and then out to the car). That's 1 hour today, folks. Yay! I may still have time for grocery shopping. I don't think I'm up for zumba (*gasp* I can't believe I just said that). Mostly, it's because I'm pretty sure it's HZL this week and I'm just not motivated, especially since I already did some today. We'll see, though. I'm already dressed for it and if I'm still energized after grocery shopping and there's time I may go, even if it's to do the elliptical.

Thursday, March 11, 2010

wadrobe malfunction

Due to a wardrobe malfunction (a crucial piece of clothing is being washed) I wasn't able to go to the gym today. Instead, I surfed YouTube looking for a zumba workout. Unfortunately, there are a bunch of little ones, so that's what I settled for. I did six different zumba workouts that totaled 30 minutes. I am now halfway to new undies.

I'm going to Indy this weekend, and the forecast says 50% chance of rain both Sat and Sun, but I am going to try to get to a park and do some walking. We'll see.

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Half Dead

I went to zumba today. I did the full hour...with AZL, no less. That is no small feat. Speaking of feet, mine are throbbing. Forty minutes into the class, I tweeted that I was going to finish zumba if it killed me. At the end of the class, I tweeted that I had finished zumba and that I was only half dead, thus the title of this post.

So, one hour down, two to go.

BTW, I don't know if I've mentioned that I gave up candy for Lent. I've got about 3 1/2 more weeks until Easter and Lent is over, but I'm going to try to continue. When I was on the low oxalate diet for my reproductive issue, I couldn't eat chocolate and I did it just fine. So, like I said I hope that I can continue my lack of candy eating after Lent is over. Maybe after I conquer that, I can work on cookies and cake. (Though I may need to make an exception for snickerdoodles. I am a sucker for snickerdoodles. If I ever become a spy and they're trying to break me, all they have to do is offer me a snickerdoodle and I'm a goner.)

I weighed myself at the gym today. 160. I tried to lie to myself and move it to 159 because I didn't want to be at 160, but it was definitely even at 160 and less even at 159. That's what I get for not going to the gym for a week. I have a training tomorrow so I'm going to try to hit the fitness machines in the morning when I don't have to be at work. Problem is, I've got six other things I have to do that have been on my list for about three weeks. I'm going to try very had to get it all done, but it will take some fancy juggling skills.

Sunday, March 7, 2010

Babysitting a futon

I had to babysit my brother's futon on Wednesday, so that someone would be there when the repair guy came. He gave a 10a-3p time frame. I got there at 9:30a and left at 3p when my brother got home from work. The guy came at 3:30p and didn't even repair it, since he realized what my brother had been telling them, that it was put together wrong and they had to order a new one.

Anyway, my brother doesn't have cable or internet installed yet, so I had to come up with things to occupy my time. First, I did a half hour of a workout video. Again, I got through 20 minutes and my feet started to hurt. I did the rest of the video sitting down. Then I did some anaerobics, followed by making jewelry and watching The Sandlot.

At least I got *some* exercise in, but didn't follow through the rest of the week. :(

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

This marks post 101

I went to the gym today. My goal was to do an hour on the machines and an hour in the pool. That got cut in half, unfortunately. There were signs on the machines telling people to limit their time to 30 minutes during this busy time...read: after New Year's Resolutions. ALL of the ellipticals and ALL of the treadmills were taken, so I settled with an exercise bike. The seat was extremely uncomfortable and I'm surprised I lasted 35 minutes on it. I did 30 minutes with a 5 minute cool down. I figured whoever was supposedly waiting for my machine could wait 5 more minutes. I then wanted to do another 30 on an elliptical or treadmill, but they were STILL all taken.

To the pool, I guess, I thought. So, I changed into my swimsuit (which, BTW, desperately needs to be replaced. I am spilling out of it since parts of me have gotten bigger and the lining is starting to get holes in it. They're just so EXPENSIVE, though) and jumped in the pool. About a lap and a half into it, I realized the adhesive on my patch was not doing so well. I kept stopping and pushing it back onto my skin. Sigh. I only got to do 500 yards in 20 minutes. It wasn't a very good time for the distance, but like I said, I had to keep stopping to keep my patch on and was also forced to swim slower to not make it looser. So, I did 55 minutes in all.

Oh! I almost forgot. I had an un-terrible experience with the lifeguard. He was in the chair the whole time, facing the pool the whole time, not talking, texting or playing games on his phone. I left a positive review with the front desk, saying that in the six months I've been swimming there, he's the best I've seen and the only one that I felt if something happened to me, I would be taken care of. I also told them my only complaint was that he was their best guard rather than their worst. Granted, he was not nearly up to my standards as far as good lifeguards go. He was not scanning properly, fixated quite often and occasionally had one leg propped up on the other. But, he was much better than ALL of the other lifeguards I've seen there. I don't know how WELL I would have been taken care of if something were to happen, but at least I wasn't wondering how long I would be floating there before I was noticed.

I have to babysit my brother's futon tomorrow, waiting on the guy to come and fix it from the furniture place. I think I'm going to take a couple workout videos, since he doesn't have cable and there's not much else to do while waiting, except make some beaded jewelry. Maybe I'll do that if after I've done the videos the guy still hasn't gotten there.

I weighed myself. 158. At least I'm not gaining, right? :P