Monday, March 22, 2010

Ghost readers and their advice

I was at a party over the weekend and a friend of mine mentioned that she had seen my skinnyblog. My initial thought was "Crap. I haven't met my goal in a month, and now she knows how much I weigh and that I've been slacking." My next immediate though was, "Well, you wanted to be accountable, Janine," which is why I'm still blogging and still posting to Facebook. I realized when she said something about it that more people read it than I thought. I know for a fact that one person reads it (hi, Mary!). I suspect my brother reads it on occasion when he's bored and has already put together the model plane I got him, read the OverBoard, written letters to the President and State Representatives and eaten his soup. Those were the only ones I knew about. How many others are out there that see the link on Facebook and wonder what Janine is up to today? I may never know. But, I do know that I am doing exactly what I made this blog for: being accountable. That means being accountable not only for the exercise I do, but for the exercise I don't.

Anyway, I digress. This friend of mine has been training for the mini marathon since January. She gave me some really good advice. She said that she puts her gym time in her planner like an appointment, and then makes sure she keeps it, like any other appointment. I already do this for my job. I never used to be a big planner person, not even in school when we were required to use them. Ever since I started this job, though, and I have a different schedule every day, I seriously feel lost without my planner. I am going to put this into practice and hopefully it will get my ass in gear.

She also suggested trying out a spin class. I'm going to do it, but I've got to be honest. I did the exercise bike today (more on that in a sec) and I couldn't do more than 20 minutes, and even that was excruciating. I don't know what the people were smoking when they invented the exercise bike with those seats, but it was seriously unbearable. I don't know if I've just got a bony butt (I doubt it...I've got some junk in the trunk) or if it's the cyst on my tailbone (doubt that, too, this was definitely my butt that was in pain) but I think that spin class is going to have me walking funny for a week just from the seat. I'm not going to go back on my word, though. I'm going to try it. So there, butt.

Ok, so update on my exercise. I was watching NCIS and it was the last two episodes of one of the recent seasons in rerun. I hadn't seen them and was completely engrossed. I had decided to go to the gym at 8:30 and at 8 realized I REALLY wanted to see the end of the 2 part show. I was torn between watching the show and going to the gym in a half hour. In a moment of clarity, I remembered that I could watch it on the tv screens on the ellipticals at the gym. Duh, Janine. So, I grabbed my stuff and headed out at the very beginning of a commercial break. I still ended up missing a good portion of it because I decided I had to weigh myself and fill my water bottle first. 158. It's down 2 lbs since the last time I was at the gym. That's good, right? Let's just hope it stays that way. I hate to be pessimistic, but I also hate when I get excited over my weight loss and then I gain it back again.

I did 35 hour on the elliptical (2.9 miles, 315 calories), 20 minutes on the exercise bike. It's only Monday and I'm 1/3 of the way. I've also got Triumph this weekend and I'll make sure to do some stabby-stabby combat stuff that always seems to be more exercise worthy than I expect. My feet may hate me and decide I am the meanest person in the whole wide world and they're never talking to me ever again, but they'll get over it. New undies, here I come?

1 comment:

  1. I ALWAYS walk funny after spin class. About 2-3 times a year I go "Oh it wasn't that bad!" I'm always wrong. My ass hurts SO bad.

    ReplyDelete