Friday, April 30, 2010

Life Happens

I know it's been a while since I posted. I was in Columbus Monday and Tuesday, Cincinnati and sick on Wednesday, a training yesterday and here I am today. I have not exercised. :P to me, right? I will try to do better next week. That's all I can say. I have had several people tell me it looks like I'm losing weight. I don't see it on the scale or on the tape measure, but ok.

Sunday, April 25, 2010

walk-a-ma-jig

I took Mayhem for a walk. That's it. 45 minutes and 1.8 miles. I think it's time for a circumference check again. I don't know if I want to know....back in a sec.

No progress. 38 for tummy and 23.5 for thighs. So much for losing inches instead of pounds. It's shit like this that makes me want to just stay laying on the couch and watching TV rather than going for a walk with Mayhem in the rain. If it's not making a difference, why do I do it? What is there to motivate me?

Thursday, April 22, 2010

Stalled

I went to DC earlier this week for a conference. We went out to a club (well, really we went IN to a club, because it was in the hotel) and I danced a lot. I was there 2.5 hours, so I'm splitting the difference and saying I danced 1.25 hours. That was really the only exercise I'm counting from the trip. I did a decent amount of walking, but it was of necessity.

Today I took Mayhem for a walk. I wasn't enthused about going to the gym, but I knew I needed to exercise. That seemed like a happy medium. About a block and a half away from home, I found a packet from the city public services. Their building is at the end of the street, and I figured they might need the packet because it was an official looking thing. So, I picked it up and walked so that we would pass the building on the way back home. The door was locked, so I left it on the ledge of their window next to the door.

In all, according to mapmyrun.com, I walked 1.55 miles. It was 40 minutes total. I'll do some sit ups and leg lifts or something tonight to make it an even 45 and then I'll be at 2 hours.

I didn't make my 3 hours last week, but I left for DC early'ish on Sunday, so I lost a lot of time in transit. Not an excuse, but just a fact.

Wednesday, April 14, 2010

silver lining

I had a training tonight. I had a training last night, too. I do not want to do that ever again. It sucked. The silver lining was that there were only 2 people who showed up to the training and it got done early. There's only so much you can do with 2 people. We did everything in the training, it just didn't take as long as it normally would. So, I got back in time to make some of zumba. MZL was there. Eh. Ego Montana was there, too, and she has started talking to a girl who I've seen at the classes maybe three times. Grrr. She never says anything to me, like at all. Not even hi. Well, that's not true. I passed her in the hallway once and I said hi first and she responded. But, she does not initiate conversation.

So, after the little bit of zumba I did, I went and did 25 minutes on the elliptical. 1.9 miles and 200 calories burned. Then, I did more on the weights. Same weight machines as last time, except I skipped the leg press and did 25lbs on the bicep machine rather than 30lbs.

I had a dr. appt yesterday and they weighed me. 158. Then, I weighed myself at the gym today. 160.5...I don't get it. I also did about 5 minutes of sit ups/leg lifts/air punches yesterday. So, I think I'm at 2 hours and 20 minutes now. Yay!

Monday, April 12, 2010

Annoying

Stupid internet connection...first there was none to speak of, then it is as slow as dial up. Sigh.

Anyway, that's not the only thing I'm annoyed about, but I'll get to that in a minute.

I went to the gym today about 20 minutes early for zumba and did weight machine stuff. All of the sets/reps were 3 sets of 10 reps, so I don't have to repeat it over and over. I did 45lbs on the deltoid machine, tricep machine and oblique machine (per side). I did 50lbs on the quad machine, 30lbs on the bicep machine and 180lbs on the leg press machine. Also, I fibbed a little. I did 5 sets of 10 reps on the ab machine at 90lbs.

Then, I went to zumba. I knew SZL was going to be there, but I figured I'd tough it out. My plan was to stay the whole hour and have 80 minutes at the gym. Stupid feet (I'm a little annoyed with them, but really not as much as this next thing I'm going to tell you about) crapped out on me 40 minutes in, so I did an hour and I was ok with that. Another reason I left was because there is a lady in the class that annoys me. She comes to pretty much all the zumba classes and she has her little group of friends that she laughs with and jokes with and talks with. I have tried to make conversation with her and other regulars in the class, but I have gotten the cold shoulder so many times, I have just stopped trying. She annoys me the most, though, because she thinks she's hot shit (excuse my language). She throws step-turns into the routines at whim because she is just so good at zumba that she can. That's another thing I tried to do to gain her favor, and I got the stink eye, like how dare I even consider doing a step-turn with her. So, in addition to shunning me and having an ego the size of Montana, she will at least once per class start doing I don't even know what on her phone IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROUTINE. Sometimes she does it in her spot, sometimes she does the routine while checking her phone, sometimes she stands at the front of the class (which is very distracting). Anyway, she has brown-nosed her way to leading some of the routines in the class. I did one of them (she also bogarted one that SZL was leading...I watched SZL, even though Ego Montana was in front of me and SZL was across the room) and when I noticed she was going to be leading another, I just left. Yes, my foot had started hurting, but I think if SZL was doing it, I would have stuck it out.

I also walked about 15 minutes today. I was checking out a new space one of my programs is acquiring and it was probably 6 blocks away from the program, so we hoofed it. So, all in all I've done 75 minutes of exercise today.

I weighed myself before lifting weights, and I'm at 157. Let's keep seeing it go down!

Saturday, April 10, 2010

arrrgghhh! I'm a pirate!

I did probably 10 minutes of leg lifts/sit ups/punches last night. I don't know exactly, though. I didn't time it. I was more concerned with how many I did, but at this point I can't remember.

I went to the gym today, because I ran several errands last night and by the time I was done, the gym was closing. I weighed myself before exercising, and I was 159. It's better than 161, which I was last time I went. I ran on the elliptical for 40 minutes. I ran more than 2.2 miles, but I don't know much more than that. I know it was 2.2 the last time I checked and it was close to when I was done. Then, I got on the weight machines (I'm actually starting to like them, which I never thought I'd say). I did 10 reps each, to make it easier to remember. I did 3 sets at 50lbs on the deltoid machine, 3 sets at 50lbs on the tricep machine, 3 sets (per side) at 30lbs on the oblique machine, 3 sets at 50lbs on the quad machine and was finally able to use the ab machine after waiting for three different people to use it, and did 5 sets at 90lbs.

The reason for the title of this post is because I use the OrthoEvra patch (patch=pirate, get it?) to alleviate the cramps I would get every month. Now I get them every 3 months. But, anyway, I just switched it yesterday (they have to be switched weekly) and I have come to realize that I basically can't sweat, swim or shower within 24 hours of switching it, because the adhesive hasn't set yet. It is very annoying and not very easy to try to exercise, swim or shower while trying to hold the patch on at the same time. It still hasn't fully adhered again yet, because I both sweated and showered today. So, arrrggghhh! I'm a pirate!

Oh, BTW, this workout put me over 3 hours, which makes my goal attained! That's two weeks in a row and I'm very proud of myself. I never did go to get the undies from last week, or the one to replace my first one that got eaten by the dryer, so now I'm up to three new pairs of undies!

Friday, April 9, 2010

circumference again

I did do my 5 minutes of sit ups/leg lifts last night, so now it's 2 hours total.

I just measured circumference again--tummy 38", thighs 23" Some progress. I guess I'll take it.

Thursday, April 8, 2010

No Hip Hop? No Problem!

I decided to go to the gym today and knew there was a hip-hop class at 6:10. Yes, the crappy hip hop class. I decided to suck it up and go anyway. I got there at 6:10, weighed myself (161...it's frustrating that I can't lose any weight) and filled my water bottle. I peeked into the room and a spin/step/sculpt class was in there. I figured it was from an earlier class that hadn't left yet. So, I decided to hop on an elliptical and do a little bit on there and check back around 6:30. So, I did 15 minutes on the elliptical and checked again. Same spin/step/sculpt class, which makes me think that either the hip hop class was at a different time than on the schedule or just wasn't happening anymore. But, I didn't really like it when I took it last time, so all's well that ends well. I went and did 40 minutes on the exercise bike. The one I chose had a seat that was MUCH more comfortable than the others. It was a *little* lumpy, but pretty good for the most part. I think if I were taller it would be better, but even at the closest seat setting, I had to lean forward a bit to reach the pedals.

Then, I went and did 25 minutes on the weight machines. I did 1 set of 15 reps, 2 sets of 10 reps, and 1 set of 5 reps at 45lbs on the tricep machine. I did 3 sets of 15 reps at 65lbs and 3 sets of 10 reps at 85lbs on the abs machine. I did 1 set of 10 reps at 25lbs, 1 set of 10 reps and 1 set of 5 reps at 20lbs on the bicep machine. I did 3 sets of 10 reps at 45lbs on the deltoid machine.

I didn't do the 20 minutes last night (I was pooped after my training), but made up for it today. I am going to do 5 minutes of more abs tonight...even though I increased the weight on the abs machine, I still didn't feel like I was lifting very much on that machine.

Wednesday, April 7, 2010

nothing substantial

I've been sticking with my pledge of "something" every day. After my run on Monday, I did ten minutes of sit ups and leg lifts that night. I also did fifteen minutes of push ups, sit ups, leg lifts and high knees last night. I'll try to do twenty minutes tonight to make an even hour. Yesterday I went to see Ben and didn't get there until 8:30, so a walk around the block with him was not possible. Then, I had a training today so couldn't go to the gym this evening. Tomorrow I will go, as well as Friday. My weekend is pretty full, so I want to make sure it's taken care of by Friday. I will still do sit ups, push ups, etc, but I am going to get my 3 hours done by Friday and the rest will be icing on top.

Monday, April 5, 2010

Death Becomes Her

About an hour and a half ago, I felt like I was about to die. I ran 1.12 miles (I won't tell you what my time was...ok, I will. 15 minutes. I'm not proud of it) around the neighborhood. I didn't let myself stop, though, and I even sprinted the last few houses. Well, sprint is a term I'm using loosely.

My legs still hurt like hell and I wouldn't be surprised if I wake up tonight with a cramp. I was going to take the dog with me but I can't find her leash. I had it this past weekend. I think it might be in Ben's car somewhere, but I'm not sure.

Oh, from last week, I did make my goal! I used my dad's rowing machine.

I've been thinking a lot recently about needing to make more of a change. I told myself today that even if I'm not going to the gym or taking a walk for a hour, I need to do SOMETHING every day, even if it's just a little bit. I've found that I will think "I can go tomorrow" or "I'll do it Friday" and I just need to make the commitment to do at least a little every day.

Also, I gave up candy for Lent and except for one instance where I had a peep, I did really, really well. I did so well that I am going to keep giving it up. I have also added cookies to it for the month of April. Hopefully I will do ok.

Sunday, April 4, 2010

Riveting

Ben and I didn't go for a walk on Friday, but we did go to the gym on Saturday for an hour. Right now I am 10 minutes short of my reward. It will happen today, even if it means doing 10 minutes of sit ups and leg lifts at 11:45p. I did 30 min on the elliptical with 5 min cool down. I did 2.5 miles in the 30 min, but 2.82 overall. I burned well over 300 calories. Then, I did 25 min worth of weights. I have never been a fan of weights. Ever. I always hated the weight room days we were required to do for track/volleyball/etc in high school. I did 3 sets of 10 reps on each machine. I did a pec machine at 40 lbs, triceps at 40 lbs, quads at 40 lbs, biceps at 25 lbs and leg press (I think it did hamstrings and glutes) at 180 lbs. I think I could have done more on the leg press, but I had already moved it once and I decided to just keep it there. Even as much as I hated the weight room days, the leg press was my favorite...mostly because I rocked at it. There would be days where I would put the four 45 lb free weights on each end and have two girls standing on the bar in between. The football coach (somewhat facetiously) tried to recruit me.

Anyway, I am going to start doing weights more. I have decided on my costume for GenCon this year. Steampunk Rosie the Riveter. I have to be at least moderately muscle-y, if no where else but my biceps. So, machines will become a regular part of my workouts.

Oh, I weighed myself when I got there. 157.5, which is a pound less than last time. I sincerely hope it keeps going down.

Thursday, April 1, 2010

I ran 12 miles today!

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
April Fool's.

I actually didn't do any exercise. I had to clean out my car for a potential extra passenger on the drive back to Dayton on Saturday, as well as go grocery shopping. It just didn't happen. *shrug* I'm going to go for a walk tomorrow in Indy, hopefully with Ben and the doggie.

Though, there is some slightly relevant news. I didn't buy the "juice cocktail" drink at the grocery store. I honestly didn't realize until a couple of months ago that it WASN'T 100% juice. That's what I get for not reading my labels. I'd been dragging my feet about stopping getting it because I actually do like it. Now, to be honest, I still have 1 1/2 64 oz bottles left from the last grocery trip, so I'm not completely rid of it. But, the only things I bought this time around were 100% juice. I got two things of OJ and two Concord Grape and Black Cherry bottles. I <3 that juice! It is usually 4.50 a bottle and I splurge a little to have the really good stuff, but it was on sale for 3.99 a bottle, so I got two. I honestly don't think I'll drink both of them before I have to go grocery shopping again (since I still have 1 1/2 bottles of the other stuff left) but I wanted to grab them up while they were cheap(er).

I also got a crap ton of fruit (3 bananas, 3 nectarines, a box of raspberries and a box of blackberries...which apparently the powers that be don't want me to eat as they fell out of the box twice) and stuff for salad (romaine lettuce, grape tomatoes, garlic almond slivers, green olives and bacon bits). I had a salad for dinner, as well as the blackberries--well, some of them--and a nectarine.

Oh, I did want to mention that I am sad to report that my nice new undies from the first and only time I've attained my reward have fallen victim to the overheating dryer. I'm going to get 2 the next time I attain it to replace them. I don't feel I should be penalized in my exercise reward because the dryer is a meanie.