I'll start with Mr. Grumpypants and work my way backward, since I titled my post after him. Volleyball tonight was ok. Mr. Grumpypants was not nearly as bad as last week, but still not very pleasant to be around. At one point between games he was giving everyone his version of a pep talk, telling us we needed to get our serves over the net if we wanted to win. Yes. Thank you. I was aware of that. Another team member flat-out said "Why can't you be more like Janine? She always stays positive." His response was that he was not pessimistic, rather just realistic. I said, "Well, the reality is that we can win." So there. Also, he was doing an awesome impression of Harrison Ford in Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade...The Penitent Man Will Pass. Seriously, he kept dropping to his knees so he could set the ball from that physical position. Uh, no. If that wasn't enough, he wanted to play every position on the court at once and was quite literally running into people IN THEIR OWN SPOTS. The thing that pushed me over the edge was when we were in the front row next to each other, myself in the middle and him in front of the server. He asked if I wanted to switch to be on the end. I knew he meant after the serve. I said sure. Then, he proceeded to tell me that we switch after the serve. I said, "I know how to switch. Thank you." He said, "Well, you were just standing there looking at me." What did you want me to do? The server hadn't served yet. I made a statement last week that I had probably been playing volleyball longer than he has been alive. I retract that statement, as I saw him drinking beer today. That would make him at least 21 and I've only been playing 19 years. Still. How about you worry about your own insufficiencies on the court rather than pointing out everyone else's, Mr. Grumpypants?
So, volleyball lasted about 38 minutes, give or take. It was supposed to start at 8:30 and we were done by 9:15. But, I don't know when we started *exactly* and there were a few minutes in between games, so I'll round down to 38 minutes. You'll understand why 38 in a minute.
Wait, there's more! I'm still working backward. :) I think I have yoga fever. I played the yoga video on TV again. It was really good. I pushed myself a little harder than yesterday. We'll see if I can keep it up. Ben has said he will do it with me once, but I have to play a video game with him. He contends that it will be Team Fortress 2, but that's not going to happen. Rock Band? Absolutely. Mario Party? Sure. Just Dance? Totally there. Team Fortress 2? Nope. WoW? Hell no. I hunted rabbits and that's as far as I'm going into that game. Anyway, I digress. It was the same 22 minute video, so I'd say that puts me at 60 minutes for the day (see, I told you 38 minutes would make sense eventually). That's a total of 2.5 hours, and it's only Wednesday. Rock on! I'm going to make sure I weigh myself tomorrow to see if any of this has made a difference. Fingers crossed! At the very least, I feel better. :)
No comments:
Post a Comment