Saturday, December 3, 2011

Past, present and future

Past: Last weekend after Thanksgiving I tried the video game (I bet you just gasped in surprise. Wait for it...) Just Dance. I really like the game. I did pretty well for never having played. I think if I got used to the game, I could be a certified pro! Lol I'd say it was a good hour of exercise.

Present: I did my 22 minute on-demand yoga workout today. I have missed doing it so much! I feel so refreshed. I hope I can do more tomorrow. :)

Also, I weighed myself again. No weight loss, but no gain. I'm good with that. It means I'm doing something right.

Future: A friend of mine told me about a zumba-a-thon coming up on the 16th. My favorite instructor will be doing part of it! I doubt I'll be able to do the whole event, but I'm going to give it my best effort. I've missed zumba, too.

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Thanksgiving

I resolved, knowing that a binge holiday was coming up, to be much more diligent in my portions. I did pretty darn well if I do says myself. We had two celebrations to attend, one for lunch and one for dinner. At lunch, I kept it to one plate of food, a few small pieces of fruit and a very small piece of peanut butter pie (so incredibly good, I might add). At dinner, I was not as successful, as I had one plate of food, a piece of blueberry pear pie, and a dessert plate each of corn/green beans and beef & noodles and grazing on a few olives. All in all, not bad, especially considering the endless supply of food I had literally at my fingertips. I was really proud of myself.

I weighed myself at my dad's house yesterday. It read that I was up two pounds, but it was not long ago that I weighed myself last, so I'm not going to let it discourage me. I am going to chalk it up to natural fluctuation. If it continues to go back up or doesn't go back down, then I'll start worrying about it.

Happy Thanksgiving everybody!

Sunday, November 20, 2011

In the right direction

There's two sides to this coin: I have not been exercising. Like, at all. Unless you count the hours I spent raking and mowing the yard last weekend...I don't, but only because back when I started the skinnyblog, I said everyday acts wouldn't count as exercise (taking stairs, yard work, walking around the store, etc). It had to be purposeful exercise, which this was not.


But, I have been doing admirably well on my portions! Even at the Thanksgiving yesterday for Ben's family, I only had one plate of food. I did graze a bit a little later, but not nearly as much as before. I'm really proud of myself. I've also lost nine pounds already since I started the portion control (about a month and a half ago if you're following along at home).


I've decided to do something nice for myself when I lose 10 lbs. Suggestions have been: an hour massage, a mani/pedi and something not on clearance (that last idea was mine). Don't get me wrong--the massage sounds amazing and the mani/pedi is really desperately needed, but someone said something about getting something not on clearance that struck home with me. They said I should get something that could be a reminder of the work I did to lose the weight. I like that thought. The mani/pedi and massage could be rewards for future weight loss. Do you have any other ideas for a weight loss reward?

Saturday, October 22, 2011

What have I been doing?

Slacking, that's what I've been doing, honestly.

After the last blog, we did not go to the gym, BUT, we did take a 35 minute walk with the dog. On Monday of this week, Ben and I did 20 minutes of yoga together. That's been it for exercise, unfortunately.

However, I think I have been doing very well on my portion control. I limit myself to one helping rather than two or three. Ben and I went out to dinner and I put half in a to-go box as soon as I got it. Then I had lunch for the next day and had good eating habits! I've also switched from a regular sized bowl at Hot Head to a little bowl. I figure, I'll collect the stickers and when I have a full card and get a free one, I will get the regular sized one.

I finally yesterday saw a difference. I decided to wear my favorite brown vest. When I put it on and buttoned it, I thought the strap in the back had come apart because it was noticeably loose. I reached back to attach the strap and realized it was already attached. It needed a little tightening, but even when I did I still had a decent amount of room. Yay!

I just measured myself, and I've lost 1 inch on my bust, 1.5 inches on my tummy and .5 inch on my thigh. Granted, that is since August, but I'd like to think my portion control efforts were instrumental in it. I haven't weighed myself, so I don't know what the verdict is on that yet. Here's hoping they both continue to go down!

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

So sore!

I know I haven't posted on here in a while. This is for a few reasons--September was extremely busy with the run/walks I was involved in. While you might think this is a good thing for j9's skinny blog, I was actually a vendor and couldn't participate in the walk. I would have LOVED to, but I can't be in 2 places at once and, unfortunately, I was by myself for both of the run/walks. So, I didn't have anyone to "hold down the fort," if you will. Also, as a result, I didn't exercise much. I did exercise, but it was 20 minutes here, 30 minutes there. Not really worth blogging about, but I probably should have. :/ Lastly, I was out of town quite a bit in September and it proved difficult to exercise while I was at the hotel. I had actually planned to do so, but forgot my tennis shoes one time and the other time got back very late.

Anyway, enough excuses. Yesterday I exercised for 20 minutes and I am sore. I also exercised on Saturday, so that may have contributed to the soreness. I started out doing a burlesque workout on free on-demand, but the instructor was terrible. I pride myself on being able to figure out things pretty quickly and I just could not for the life of me figure out how she was doing her sequence. I watched it 8 or 9 times, even. She kept saying "if you don't have it yet, that's ok, I'll get you there." Uh, no. She never once broke down the moves to explain how to do them, went semi-slowly maybe twice and did NOT get me there. I stopped the workout after 6 minutes. Sigh. It had so much potential, too!

So, from there I wanted to do some cardio rather than the yoga I've been doing a lot of or muscle training. I found a workout with the same person who leads the yoga videos I like so much. She kicked my ass. I did 14 minutes of hers and I guarantee it's why I'm sore. There was a lot of bending involved, so my lower back is none too happy. My arms and legs are a little annoyed, but the back is the worst.

Ben and I are going to meet up at the gym on Wednesday. It will be the first time in a while that I've gone. I refused to go when it was sweltering outside because they have a very poor ventilation system and a wall of windows. You started sweating when you walked in and hadn't even exercised yet. Now that it's cooler I'm hoping it will be more tolerable. Fingers crossed.

Also, I am watching my portions. Most times, I stop eating at a smaller portion than I'm used to, and I am still hungry. I have to get over that. That's what got me into this mess in the first place and I don't want to continue the cycle. Hopefully, as I continue to eat smaller portions, I will stop feeling hungry because my body will get used to the smaller portion size. We'll see. I tried doing several small meals over the weekend and it seemed to work pretty well. I don't know how it will work during the week, so I'm curious to give it a try.

Friday, September 2, 2011

Tiny Dancer

Ok, so I'm not tiny, but I did dance my little butt off last Saturday! (I know this is ridiculously late...I have been, and continue to be, ridiculously busy) We were there a total of 4 hours and Ben and I both agreed I danced around 2.5 hours of that. Whew! I also went for a 30 minute walk earlier that day, so I knocked out my 3 hours of exercise in one day! Unfortunately, like I said, my life is extremely busy right now between finishing custom board game by the end of August and now September being my run/walk vendor month...exercise is slacking. I will try my darndest to keep it up, but it's going to be tough. Wish me luck! See you on the other side of September!

Sunday, August 14, 2011

Where did the week go?

Well, I only exercised for a half hour one day this week. I couldn't even tell you which day it was. This week just got away from me. I blinked and it was Saturday. So, no goal achieved for me. Sad face.

Tomorrow starts a new week. Maybe I'll do better this time. The next couple of months are going to be a challenge--I'm out of town for work a lot. Nine days to be exact over six and a half weeks starting at the end of this month. I'm going to try to meet up with other people there who are also exercising to keep us all motivated. We can do it!

On the feet front, my MRI has been scheduled. I found out that there won't be any dye, so that makes me happy. Fingers crossed we can get to the bottom of this and be able to do something about it. I had a dream last night that they did the MRI and told me that my feet were perfectly fine and I was making it all up. I was glad when I woke up and realized it was just a dream.

Sunday, August 7, 2011

Boo. :(

Well, I did exercise on Friday--I even did an hour. I did the yoga video for 22 minutes (Ben did it with me!) and took the dogs for a 40 minute walk. Unfortunately, that's where it stopped. I had a pretty bad episode on Saturday of what Ben and I suspect is asthma. I get them occasionally. It happens when I am laughing really, really hard and I can't catch my breath. I start coughing/hacking, literally can barely breathe and when I do, it's wheezing. This particular one had me in tears. I even had a little aftershock one about an hour later. I know it's not much of an excuse, but my chest hurt quite a bit and my whole body was drained. I was even planning to go out dancing that night and decided against it. I'm much better today, but my throat is really irritated. I had planned on telling the doctor about them, and trying to figure out if it is, in fact, asthma, and I forgot. :(

We were going to exercise today, too. It just never happened. :( I worked on the thank you notes from the wedding, which really needed worked on, since it was practically 7 months ago. So, I was productive rather than just sitting on my butt instead of exercising. Tomorrow starts a new week. New goal to achieve, I can do it!

Thursday, August 4, 2011

Last week and this week

Quick update before I go to bed:

I didn't reach my goal last week. Sad face. My Saturday was consumed by two trainings and my Sunday was consumed by wrapping up ex-husband business five and a half years in the making. I'd much rather get that taken care of than do some exercise. As much as I want to get healthier, that takes precedence this once.

This week, I did 42 minutes yesterday and 22 minutes today, which puts me slightly over an hour. Ben and I have an exercise date tomorrow, so we'll see how much I'll add to that. I think I can get 2 more hours by Sunday. It will take 45 minutes the next three days at least, but that's completely doable.

I had a dr. appt on Monday. I was over 170, something like 172 or 173, I don't quite remember. I was bummed. I was really hoping my exercising would have paid off, but I'm actually gaining again. Though, I did measure myself on Saturday because I noticed my shorts were really loose. I've lost .5" on my tummy, .5" off my chest and gained .5" on my thighs. So, that's something, right?

Speaking of the doctor, I talked to him about the foot issues. HE actually suggested it might be a neuroma, which is what I've been saying for years and no one has listened. Now, I get that doctors don't want people to google their symptoms and come up with a diagnosis, but to not give it any consideration whatsoever? So, he's scheduling me an MRI, which should be a blast with my fear of needles. But, maybe we can get to the bottom of this.

I was counting today how many calories I've been eating lately for lunch at work. I have a 100 calorie bag of popcorn, 2 slices of 80 calorie cheese and a serving of 200 calorie rice. 460 calories for lunch isn't too bad, right? I'll look it up. Have a good night!

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Feet don't fail me

I can't take this anymore. My feet feel like 9,000 daggers are stabbing the tops. :( I'm making an appointment tomorrow, but I don't think I'll be able to get in until the 3rd when I have a training. I have heat packs on them now, and it helps a little...so it feels like only 6,000 daggers.

I was called to sub for volleyball again today. They were short manned...or really, short womanned. I was almost spent after the second game, but there was no one to take my place, so I gritted through it. Mr. Grumpypants was more like Mr. Sortasnarkypants today. He actually smiled, was encouraging the team a little and even gave me a compliment on one of my sets to him. Unfortunately, he did not get the ball over on said set, so almost with the same breath as the compliment, he says "It was such a good set, I didn't know what to do with it." Thanks for implying that every other set that I do, or anyone else does for that matter, is so sub-par that you have to make up for it. I told him "That was mean." He just laughed. Go ahead, Mr. Sortasnarkypants. Laugh. It's ok. I am self-confident and proud of who I am and what I do. I can recognize when I need to improve and try very hard to do so in order to be the best me I can be. If you need to be mean and laugh to feel good about yourself, you won't hurt me any.

We did win one game. It was very close and we kind of won by default. Basically, there is a 23 point cap to every game, and we won 23-22 only because we couldn't play that game any longer. Who knows who would have legitimately won that game if we would have had to win by 2 as usual.

I'm going to say 43 minutes of exercise today. With the 42 from yesterday, that makes 1 hour 25 minutes. Almost halfway to my goal for the week.

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Extra exercise and a new week

So after I updated last week, I was invited to go dancing. So I did. I have no clue how long I actually danced. Let's say a half hour total. I was there two hours, but I did a fair amount of sitting and talking (and picture taking. I'm still not too pleased with the way I look in pictures, but at least I'm doing something about it now).



That makes 3.5 hours of total exercise last week. Yay for me!

I didn't exercise yesterday. I made sushi for two hour instead. It turned out ok, but not awesome. Not worth 2 hours of cooking. Today I tried a new 20 minute workout video, dance for abs, or something equally as appealing to the women-folk. It was ok. It's a video I could probably do one or two times more before losing interest completely. I just don't care once I've got the moves, you know? Luckily, there are a lot of free videos to choose from.

I also did the 22 minute yoga video again. For some reason, I don't get bored with it like the hip hop/salsa/belly dance/hula videos I've done previously. Maybe because it's not a routine to master, but just a series of positions to move through, no mastery involved. Ben occasionally comes in while I'm doing it and commented today that I seem to be getting more flexible. I actually noticed it, too. I also noticed that I didn't need 2 alley-oops to pull myself up from a flat back position, which I don't remember when the last time that was possible. :D

So, 42 minutes to start off this week.

Saturday, July 23, 2011

Yoga madness

I did my last half hour of exercising that I needed just now. I did the 22 minute yoga video I've been doing (adding a little more difficulty) and then found another yoga video with some dude focusing on abs for 10 minutes. I did not like the one with the dude. He was not that nice to look at, and he did not vary the workout very well. If I wanted to do crunches, I don't need some surfer yoga instructor wannabe showing me how to do them. I really like the lady who does the 22 minute video. She varies the workout, is very encouraging and is easy on the eyes. ;)

That means I met my 3 hour goal for the week, a day early! Yippee!!

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Weigh-in

I have a headache today. I'm giving myself a break and nursing it. Stupid ghetto grocery store chicken salad.

I did weigh myself today. 167.5 still. Mmmmmmmeh. (Did I drag that out enough to express my disappointment/begrudged acceptance?) I am telling myself that at least I'm not gaining. I'd Ike to see downward progress, though. We'll see what happens next week. The week after that I measure circumference. Hopefully something will change.

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Mr. Grumpypants

I'll start with Mr. Grumpypants and work my way backward, since I titled my post after him. Volleyball tonight was ok. Mr. Grumpypants was not nearly as bad as last week, but still not very pleasant to be around. At one point between games he was giving everyone his version of a pep talk, telling us we needed to get our serves over the net if we wanted to win. Yes. Thank you. I was aware of that. Another team member flat-out said "Why can't you be more like Janine? She always stays positive." His response was that he was not pessimistic, rather just realistic. I said, "Well, the reality is that we can win." So there. Also, he was doing an awesome impression of Harrison Ford in Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade...The Penitent Man Will Pass. Seriously, he kept dropping to his knees so he could set the ball from that physical position. Uh, no. If that wasn't enough, he wanted to play every position on the court at once and was quite literally running into people IN THEIR OWN SPOTS. The thing that pushed me over the edge was when we were in the front row next to each other, myself in the middle and him in front of the server. He asked if I wanted to switch to be on the end. I knew he meant after the serve. I said sure. Then, he proceeded to tell me that we switch after the serve. I said, "I know how to switch. Thank you." He said, "Well, you were just standing there looking at me." What did you want me to do? The server hadn't served yet. I made a statement last week that I had probably been playing volleyball longer than he has been alive. I retract that statement, as I saw him drinking beer today. That would make him at least 21 and I've only been playing 19 years. Still. How about you worry about your own insufficiencies on the court rather than pointing out everyone else's, Mr. Grumpypants?

So, volleyball lasted about 38 minutes, give or take. It was supposed to start at 8:30 and we were done by 9:15. But, I don't know when we started *exactly* and there were a few minutes in between games, so I'll round down to 38 minutes. You'll understand why 38 in a minute.

Wait, there's more! I'm still working backward. :) I think I have yoga fever. I played the yoga video on TV again. It was really good. I pushed myself a little harder than yesterday. We'll see if I can keep it up. Ben has said he will do it with me once, but I have to play a video game with him. He contends that it will be Team Fortress 2, but that's not going to happen. Rock Band? Absolutely. Mario Party? Sure. Just Dance? Totally there. Team Fortress 2? Nope. WoW? Hell no. I hunted rabbits and that's as far as I'm going into that game. Anyway, I digress. It was the same 22 minute video, so I'd say that puts me at 60 minutes for the day (see, I told you 38 minutes would make sense eventually). That's a total of 2.5 hours, and it's only Wednesday. Rock on! I'm going to make sure I weigh myself tomorrow to see if any of this has made a difference. Fingers crossed! At the very least, I feel better. :)

Tuesday, July 19, 2011

Free on demand

I discovered free on demand fitness videos through the cable company today. Wow! I want for nothing!

I started out with some belly dancing basics. I've never had any formal belly dancing classes, but I think I can fake through it pretty well. The videos were moves I've always done naturally, with a few foot flicks and hand twirls. 22 minutes right there! I decided after I didn't make my exercise goal last week that I should probably increase my exercise time to 45 minutes instead of 30. I can handle an extra 15 minutes. So, with the belly dancing videos, I was 23 minutes shy. I found a yoga video for 22 minutes and decided that was close enough. I've been interested in trying yoga, but not exactly comfortable going to a public class since I know less than nothing about it. I figured trying it at home by myself was the best alternative. Well, it was then that the cable decided to throw a tantrum and play 10 seconds and freeze. I was finally able to get through 8 minutes of it. I'm going to try again here in a few minutes, but if that is all I can do today, I'm ok with that. I'll pick it up somewhere else. ****UPDATE**** I was able to get through the rest of the video. I'm now at 90 minutes of exercise for the week.

Subbing for volleyball again tomorrow. Let's hope Mr. Grumpypants gets up on the right side of the bed. Might not be able to weigh myself until Thursday. We'll see.

Monday, July 18, 2011

Good news and bad news

I'll start with the bad news. There's two things. First, I only exercised 2 hrs last week. I took Friday off, and Saturday and Sunday were very busy and I didn't get to it. Second, I ate some sixlets and a cookie today. Willpower sad face.

Good news time! I went to zumba at the gym today. I could only get through 45 minutes, though (that part probably belongs with the bad news, but it's more reality than disappointment). My feet were just not having it. Ben has been on me to try the cortisone shots again. But, they hurt like a mofo, are flipping expensive and are inconsistent in how often they work. I can't believe I'm actually considering it. I keep remembering when they actually did work and how blissfully wonderful it was for 2 weeks to be a normally functioning human being again. It is just so frustrating knowing I'm capable of doing more, if it were not for my feet.

Enough of that, more good news. I bought stuff today for several of the healthy recipes I'm trying-- stuffed tomatoes, pita pockets, and the chicken salad recipe I'm excited about. Though, go figure, lite mayo is actually healthier than the garlic dressing. So, I got poppyseed instead.

I forgot to weigh myself at the gym. :( I'll make sure to do it tomorrow instead. I think I'll do circumferences once per month, so I've got a few weeks to update that.

Ta-Ta for now!

Thursday, July 14, 2011

Mus-kles

I lifted weights today. Ben and I had a date to work out; it was his idea!

My feet were still hurting from yesterday, so I figured weights would be the best course of action, especially since the fitness center here doesn't have any upper-body cardio machines. What is up with that??? I did 3 sets of 10 reps on each machine. On the deltoid machine I did 20 lbs, on triceps I did 35 lbs, on the hip extenders (both in and out...possibly my second favorite machines after the leg press) 60 lbs, on the biceps 20 lbs and on the pectoral machine 35 lbs. Not too shabby.

Oh, and I also weighed myself: 167.5, which is 2.5 lbs down from the last time I weighed myself. I'm not going to get too excited because I know my weight fluctuates A LOT, so I'm going to wait until I see a downward trend to get excited. But, I'm going in the right direction!

I got some chicken salad again today for lunch. I recoginze this is probably not the best food option with the mayo, but I laid in bed last night coming up with chicken salad recipe options that would make it a little healthier. I think I may have found a viable option in Ben's favorite salad dressing (for the piles and piles of salad that he eats...lol)--creamy garlic from La Rosa's. I'd probably put some green olives, black olives, celery, sliced baby carrots and diced cucumbers in it. It already sounds good and I've never eaten it!

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

A walk and a volleyball

Yesterday our cable/Internet randomly stopped working. It wasn't the storm, because it worked up until around 6'ish and then stopped. So, I couldn't update yesterday. I took the dog for a walk around the neighborhood. It was nice, and she loved it. We walked for 25 minutes. I probably could have stretched it to 30, but I wasn't sure if a side street was a dead end or not, so I didn't take it. It was not, and it would have given me a few extra walking minutes.

Technically, my goal yesterday was to make better food choices. I had a salad for lunch. It was a crappy salad. I was unimpressed. But, I continued my goal today and had a chicken salad croissant and 2 hard boiled eggs (with 4 eggs left for other lunches, yay!).

Today, Ben had research to do for school and couldn't go with me to the gym. I had laundry to put away anyway, so I was going to exercise at home today (leg lifts, crunches, upper body cardio, etc). Then, my sister got home and said her volleyball team was going to be short a player, they had a double header and could I be a sub. Hell, yeah! I ended up only playing 3 games of the six. They had an extra person show up and I let him play the second 2 games. Then, I subbed in the first and third games of the second match. I sat out the second game because my foot was starting to hurt.

There was a dude on the team whose attitude needed a major adjustment. He would roll his eyes, sigh and throw his shoulders around any time someone else messed up. Sometimes, he would even grant them a condescending remark. But, of course, HE was Olympic team material and anytime HE messed up, it wasn't a problem. Well, until the second match when he started messing up more. Then he would throw little mini tantrums. I decided to cheer and be extra supportive of the team to try to offset his negativity. The team morale did suffer because of him, but I'd like to think not quite as much as it would have otherwise. I even made a point to aim motivational messages at him when he was throwing his tantrums. So there, Oscar the Grouch (but that's an insult to Oscar).

I'd say total I played 35 minutes, if each game lasted 10 minutes and practice time. I'm at an hour and a half for exercise this week now. Getting there!

Since I was about to make dinner when Sara proposed going to volleyball, I didn't get a chance to eat before we left. I went to the grocery store later and got some tomato soup and cheese I can actually eat to make grilled cheese. Yummy. :)

That's all she wrote!

Monday, July 11, 2011

In a heartbeat

I went exercising with Ben today. I wanted to do an hour, but only did a half hour.

I weighed myself first--170. Grrrr face.

I was on the elliptical and did, officially, 2.25 mi in 30:30. Not awesome, but not too bad, either. Really, that's about as good as I did at cross country when I first started doing it in high school. Granted, running on an elliptical and running on a cross country course are hardly comparable, but I did it nonetheless.

Ben was worried about me pushing myself too hard. First of all, it was noticeably warm in the fitness room at the gym. Considering we're all in there sweating while exercising anyway, I'd consider that a poor choice on the part of the staff. Second of all, I was challenging myself. I first challenged myself to run 100 meters at a half sprint in 30 seconds or less, 5 minutes into the workout. Unfortunately, I apparently cannot do math and exercise at the same time because I kept thinking 100 meters was the same as .10 miles. I realized my error and started fixing my calculations. I finally figured out that 100 meters was actually .0625 miles, which made .10 miles 160 meters. So, I really ran 160 meters in 30 seconds or less. Once I figured out the correct measurement, I tried to do .25 miles (400 meters) in 75 seconds. Yeah, that didn't happen. I did get it in 90 seconds, though. My last challenge to myself was at the end of the workout where I tried to do .125 miles (200 meters) in 45 seconds. That didn't happen, either, but it was close. I did .10 in 45 seconds.

Anyway, in the last two times I was challenging myself, I was running at probably 3/4 sprint. Not an all-out zombie apocalypse sprint....more like a chasing a Triumph player through the woods sprint (some of you will appreciate that reference). It, naturally, raised my heart rate. I have a high resting heart rate as it is--anywhere from mid-90s to 120s. When I started the workout, my heart rate was 161. The highest it got was 192. I was hydrating myself and being cognizant of my limits, as well as taking it really slowly after each increased speed. I knew I was spent after 30 minutes, so we called it a day. Hopefully my feet will forgive me, but they are still sore on the top where my nerve problem is, so that's probably asking too much.

Tomorrow is another day toward my goal of feeling better about myself. I think today was a good start.

Sunday, July 10, 2011

New resolution

I played mud volleyball yesterday and other than getting a wicked sunburn on my back, I got my picture taken several times. It was not pretty, and I'm not talking about the mud. Every picture reminded me how much weight I had gained, and I finally got tired of looking at my "fatty fat ass" as I described it to Ben.

This is not the worst picture. Unfortunately, the others were not as close.
(Me, far left)

I have set goals for myself for the next week, both in terms of exercise and diet, and my plan is to meet or exceed them. I'm also going to reinstate my 3 hours of exercise incentive. In my goals, I have 3.5 hours planned, so if I stick to my goals, I will get some new undies. Also, I am working on reducing my portions (my biggest hurdle) and have looked into healthier recipes to cook for dinner. This will not be a diet. I want to change how I live my life so that I don't allow myself to gain more weight than I already have and hopefully lose pounds and inches. Right now, I am in the mid-to-high 160s and I am utterly ashamed of that. I am 42" around the bust, 41" at my belly button and 24" on my thighs.

I find it sort of sickening that the "perfect measurements" would have someone's waist as large as one of my thighs. I don't consider myself to be *that* fat to where I could house two ideal women's torsos in my legs. I'm not saying there is something inherently wrong with my body--sure, I need to get back to a healthy weight, but there are very few things WRONG with my body, TYVM--I'm saying that society is inherently wrong for expecting *women* (not girls, mind you) to be that emaciated. So, I'm going to change my lifestyle for me. Not for society, not to be like my skinny family, friends, coworkers or acquaintances, and not for my husband. (For posterity's sake, I want to make it clear that my husband is amazing and loves me no matter what size I am and thinks I am beautiful already...he had to crash a pretty big pity party when I saw those pictures, so I wanted to make sure no one thought he was pressuring me to lose weight. He is supporting me and will be exercising with me, but this is all me.)

We went walking for 20 minutes today. The workout week goes Monday-Sunday, so it won't count toward my goal, but I wanted to start working on my improvements today. I was going to mow the lawn tonight as well, but I've spent most of today nursing the sunburn and the little time I've spent with a shirt on has irritated it. I know I can legally go topless in Ohio as long as I don't cause a nuisance, but I think me mowing the lawn topless would create a considerable nuisance. So, the lawn will have to wait until my burn is less severe. Thank God for amazing husbands who slather aloe on their wives' backs every few hours, even when they have a law school paper due next week.

Monday, March 21, 2011

It's Magic, You Know!

Ok, I canceled my membership to the gym. Ben and I had to take a hard look at our finances and we haven't even been to the gym since September. We've been paying for the membership and not using it. We couldn't justify paying for something we're not using, especially since the new building I'm working in has a rec center. I can get a complimentary membership for me and Ben since I work there. But, when I went to cancel the membership, apparently I didn't cancel it in enough time to stop this month's payment. As a result, we still have an active membership until the middle of April.

We went for a walk yesterday, but Ben wasn't getting home until late today. He suggested going to the gym this evening since we still could. So, we went. As always, I weigh myself before exercising. Rewind to last week when we were hanging out with some friends. I weighed myself at their house and I was 167. I was very, very unhappy. I wasn't happy when I broke 150, much less that I had broken 160 and was flirting with 170. Ok, fast-forward back to today when I weighed myself. When I weigh myself on a manual scale, I always overshoot what I think I weigh. I went for 170, praying it would be too heavy. Whew, it was. I dropped down to 167. Still heavy. Hmmm. 165? Nope. 162. Huh. Still heavy. 160...There we go! Wait, WHAT????? I seriously weighed myself twice just to be sure. Somehow I magically lost 7 lbs in a week. Watch, the next time I weigh myself, I'll be back up to 164 or something. I seriously hate my body.

We worked out for 35 min on the ellipticals. I wanted to do weigh lifting for the other 25 min, but thinking about cleaning off the machines, adjusting the weight and then cleaning them off again...it was exhausting just thinking about it, so I decided I'd focus on weights next time we go, whether it's to the gym or the rec center.